Week 1

Ok, so I’ve now been on board the ship a week. It has been a very tough week for me and I’ve wanted to go home every day but I know I have to power through because I’ll only regret it. I need to give it more time. I just feel overwhelmed with everything but also missing home all the time. I just want to be able to see them and hug them, which I can’t here. It’s also the feeling of not being able to speak to them when I want to due to time difference or the Internet – there’s always something.

This week has been basically safety training all week, and filling my head with lots of information. I just don’t know where to begin for half of it. I know it’s important but they should do it slowly so it’s not overwhelming and trying to remember everything. Luckily, I am quite good at remembering information. I know where everything is on the ship now it’s just knowing the area so port side or starboard, or midship, aft or forward. It’s all very confusing terms.

The food is okay. I am finding things I like so for breakfast I tend to have cereal, a roll and banana. Lunch and dinner changes but usually 1 or 2 things I like – sometimes more. I do need to branch out a little bit but just trying to keep my energy going at the moment. Also I’m finding myself not very hungry. I haven’t even snacked that much! 

I’ve been walking quite a bit to work or to lunch or just wondering around. There are crew elevators but I tend to walk. Walking up to the 5th deck, is hard work but I am hoping by the end of my contract I can do it without being out of breath. That would be nice! I have been fine sleeping, quite well actually but I think that’s because I am tired. I haven’t napped in the day yet because I haven’t really needed it. I’ve been getting up at 7:30 && powering through until like 11:30-12 and not feeling overly tired but that may change once I start working properly but I don’t sleep much anyway so I might be okay, we shall see!

I am trying my best to keep positive and take the most of all my opportunities I have so that includes getting off the ship and going on land – it keeps me sane but also to speak to my family. 

I think I’ve covered everything. Let me know if you have any questions about how it works onboard and I’ll answer as best as I can. Again thank you for the continued support on this journey.

15 weeks left to go! 

Xxx 

One thought on “Week 1

  1. Wow that week went so fast!! I’m sure your head is spinning with information from your training but it sounds like you’re handling it well. It will all fall into place when you start working properly. It’s really good that you’re sleeping well, especially when you are doing such long days! You must be keeping really fit using the stairs!!
    It’s lovely reading your blog Molly….you haven’t mentioned your room-mate (unless ive missed that bit). What’s her name? Where is she from?
    Sending you a big hug. ….you’re doing really well! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

